Rules of Engagement. (Because I said so.)

Law Enforcement

 

Since you and I are such good friends, allow me to let you in on a secret.  I am direct in my writing, but there is an empathatic person behind this callous pen.         

I would be disappointed to learn that I unintentionally hurt a reader with my words.          

Yes, I do need to get over that.  In the meantime, I’m attempting to control the world around me in order to mitigate this concern.  (Dear psychologists:  have a field day with that sentence.  You’re welcome.)         

Yes, I really am laying down the law regarding what you can and cannot do with my blog.         

And because I am the governor, the judge, the jury and the Mom around these parts, what I say goes.          

You can (and should):         

  •  Read it
  • Subscribe to it
  • Link to it!  (I’ll take this as a compliment, regardless of the context of the link.)
  • Laugh with me
  • Cry with me
  • Make me feel good:  Share your positive feed-back.
  • Help me to improve:  I appreciate constructive criticism.
  • Comment on my posts:  Do you have something to add?  I can’t wait to hear it!
  • Allow me to learn from you:  Tell me the lessons in YOUR diaper bag

 

You cannot (should not, and will not):         

 

1.  Do not take offense to anything I say.  Anything.          

We may disagree on particular issues.  What’s best for me may not be best for you, and just because I live my life a certain way, that does not mean I judge you for yours.  Our differences are a beautiful part of what makes this world go ’round, and I am eager to learn from you all that I can.  (If I have offended you, please accept my genuine apology.  I hope I have at least offered you a new perspective to solidify the way you feel.)          

2.  Do not assume I am always right.         

I am not a professional.  I am just a new mom, trying to use every day as an opportunity to make myself better.  I am not a pediatrician, a psychologist, a financial expert, a dietician or a professional chef.   Before you take my advice, please do your own research, and always check with a professional.  Always.  I would never intentionally give bad advice.  But I’m learning as I go.            

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~    

Do you have any policies you wish you could enforce on your own or others’ blogs?   

I’d love to hear about them!   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3 responses to “Rules of Engagement. (Because I said so.)

  1. Pingback: My Hyperactive Pro/Con Brain Quadrant, and Why the Benefits of Blogging Outweigh My Fears «

  2. Pingback: Want to See my Eyes Shoot Flaming Darts of Fire? «

  3. Pingback: Got Toys? 7 Baby Toys You Might Not Know You Own «

Leave a Reply

